I have been trying to figure out my final major essay for Material Culture – I’m looking at clothing as identity and trying to find case studies to compare with ideas of clothing as commodities, identity, youth culture (we have been given a chapter from our text book and have to use this as a reference to the case studies etc). I initially started looking at youth culture and uniform but have found myself swimming back to the idea of suits… probably because of work and our clients, along with their tastes in suits, cloths, styling and especially their line of work has always fascinated me – let alone the amount of money one is willing to part with in obtaining a tailor made suit.

Any way, on my journey I have been looking largely into Zoot suits and came across this brilliant quote from Malcom X. My knowledge around the Zoot suit is still growing but he manages to describe it completely in one sentence.

He describes the Zoot Suit as,

“a killer-diller coat with a drape shape, reet pleats and shoulders padded like a lunatics cell.”

Wish this guy was still around so he could write my essay.

sick.

 

